Trick

October 5, 2008 at 9:24 pm Leave a comment

After clicker training our next assignment was having our rat do a trick. I have been working this past week with Penelope to go through a tunnel, which is a plastic cup. I took a solo cup and cut the bottom out of it. I tapped it to the floor of the aquarium. I have been shaping Penelope to go through the cup and I think she has it. At the beginning of introducing this trick Penelope was very distracted by the cup. The first time I tried to train with her, I got nothing accomplished because she was seemed to be too interested in jumping on the cup, trying to chew the cup and rip it off from the floor. The first step in shaping that I did was when she put her head in the cup I clicked. Once she got use to this the next step was half her body in the cup. In this video you can see her standing on the cup and her first stages of shaping.

After a week of practice and shaping Penelope is completely going through the cup now. Here is a video showing off her new trick!!  

Entry filed under: Erika and Penelope.

Louise’s Trick Louise’s Trick cont…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


